This Week in my Library Basket…

I love my library system. It generously allows patrons to borrow up to 100 items at a time (I have done this more than once), it allows up to 100 hold requests at a time (I have also done this more than once), and its Suggest a Title feature has no how-many or how-often limits (I make 2-3 suggestions per week). Thank you Loudoun County Public Library for indulging this kidlit bibliophile!

Since I don’t have to show much restraint when it comes to books, my library baskets are always overflowing. Let’s take a peek at some of the books I borrowed from the library this week, shall we?

Brand-New Books Basket: Published in 2018

IF THE S IN MOOSE COMES LOOSE by Peter Hermann, illustrated by Matthew Cordell, publisher: Harper (an imprint of Harper Collins Publishers), 2018.

My kids compared this to the PBSKids show Word World. It is a wild romp through spelling and how little changes can make a big difference.

THE BIG UMBRELLA by Amy June Bates, cowritten by Juniper Bates, publisher: A Paula Wiseman Book (Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers), 2018.

A lovely metaphor for hospitality and acceptance.

NATSUMI! by Susan Lendroth, illustrated by Priscilla Burris, publisher: G. P. Putnam’s Sons (an imprint of Penguin Random House), 2018.

This colorful book has the best opening line: “For a small girl, Natsumi did everything in a big way.” It celebrates Japanese culture and finding the right fit for one’s proclivities.

Early Reader & Chapter Books Basket

MY KITE IS STUCK AND OTHER STORIES by Salina Yoon, publisher: Bloomsbury, 2017.

Deceptively simple stories with a humorous twist.

CHARLIE & MOUSE and CHARLIE & MOUSE & GRUMPY, by Laurel Snyder, illustrated by Emily Hughes, publisher: Chronicle Books, 2017.

Brotherly love and adventures. A heart-warming first-chapter-book pair.

IT’S SHOE TIME! by Bryan Collier, publisher: Hyperion Books for Children, 2017.

For fans of Mo Willems’ Elephant & Piggie books, there are now ELEPHANT & PIGGIE LIKE READING! books. This delightful addition is very pun-ny. 😉

More Picture Books Basket

I haven’t had a chance to read these yet. Do any of these look familiar? Please let me know in the comments!

And I’d love to know what is in your library basket!

Please follow and like us:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *